Minutes VML/VACO Steering Committee Special Meeting February 20, 2024 via Zoom

Jeff Shawver, Vice Chair called the meeting to order at 11:02 am and requested that Sue Mellen, VML Staff Support to the Committee take roll call.

The following members were present: Jeff Shawver, Roanoke City Public Schools; Antonia Magallon, Town of Vinton; Randy Wingfield, Town of Christiansburg; Leigh Anne Weitzenfeld, City of Roanoke; Mike Cochran, Town of Abingdon; Sonia Jammes, Lynchburg Public Schools; Bill Rush, Town of Marion; David Jeavons, Roanoke Regional Airport; David Cox, Western Virginia Regional Jail; Regina Whitt, Tazewell County PSA, Ashley King, County of Roanoke; Todd Kageals, Roanoke County Public Schools; Candy McGarry, County of Nelson; Jeff Wells, Campbell County Utility Service Authority; Will Lattea, Town of Blacksburg; Michelle McClanahan, Campbell County Public Schools; Linda Millsaps, County of Floyd; LeAnna Surratt, Town of Hillsville; Mike Watson County of Carroll; New River Valley Regional Jail

A quorum was established.

Others present: John Walker, III, Williams Mullen; Anna Birkenheier, Williams Mullen; Sue Mellen, VML; Keyara Johnson, VML.

Jeff Shawver introduced John Walker of Williams Mullen, counsel to the Committee, to explain the action item.

Mr. Walker first provided an overview of the work that the Committee does on behalf of the members and how that work inures to the financial benefit of the members. He then explained APCo's proposal to extend the end of the term of the current contract between APCo and the Public Authorities by one year from December 31, 2024 to December 31, 2025. Mr. Walker informed the members that it was counsel's recommendation that the Committee vote to accept the proposal for multiple reasons. Mr. Walker then opened the floor for questions and more discussion regarding the action item. After a brief discussion, Jeff Shawver asked for a motion to approve the proposal to extend the current APCO contract for one year. Bill Rush, Town of Marion made the motion to approve and Mike Cochran seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

Jeff Shawver adjourned the meeting at 11:32am.